The State of Things at the Current Moment

flowered couch

Here I am sitting on
my frayed, flowered couch
in my 3-bedroom house
in a small rural town
in the forgotten state of Idaho,
while out there somewhere
is an unstable president
and brooding terrorists
and charitable strangers–
and people everywhere
who just want to quietly
live and breathe and die,
who hope the terrorists
will decide to be
ordinary citizens
and the president
will lose his cellphone.

About Judy Grigg Hansen
I write poetry and nonfiction, and I am passionate about the people, places, and wildflowers of Idaho and the Northwest.

One Response to The State of Things at the Current Moment

  1. Dick Grigg says:

    My response: Here I sit, 93 years old looking out my front window at America feeling more confident and safe than ever before in my life because we now have a President who is not afraid to do whatever it takes to keep us safe and make America first.

Leave a Reply

