Single to the Glory of God

Judy slacklining concentrating

Standing left of the slackline,

I breathe deeply and

cast cares from my mind,

creating a tabula rasa.

Like the “om, om”

of the Buddhist,

I channel my energy

into a single focal point

and step forward,

Peter walking on water.

Two steps, three, four–

then my mind capitulates

to the crush of thoughts

rushing over the dam

and, like Peter, I sink.

About Judy Grigg Hansen
I write poetry and nonfiction, and I am passionate about the people, places, and wildflowers of Idaho and the Northwest.

4 Responses to Single to the Glory of God

  1. Marsha Buccambuso says:

    Somehow the picture enhanced an already wonderful poem. You caught those feelings perfectly!

  2. Thank you, Tam. I hope you’re have a lovely autumn.

Leave a Reply

